11 Trophies - St John’s School Celebrate amazing Football Season

On Wednesday St John’s School and Sixth Form College held a unique celebration evening. In addition to the annual sports awards evening, the school wanted to recognise the outstanding achievements in football this year. Dick Malone, formerly of Sunderland FC was the guest of the evening bringing with him the FA Cup! He spoke warmly of the ‘support and team ethic that made the schools’ teams so successful this season’.  His attendance alone made it a great experience for any Mackem parents. Headteacher Gerard Moran reflected on the year stating: “Every year group winning at least one trophy is incredible and we are very proud of all the students and staff who have contributed to an outstanding achievement.”

Some of the players received individual awards in recognition of their performances during the season. The teachers who run each of the teams helped celebrate the students’ achievements in many unique ways, taking inspiration from football programmes the boys’ were very familiar with. The Year 7 team was congratulated for winning the County Futsal tournament and finishing Runners-up in the regional finals. The Year 7 awards were; Player of the Year  - Cameron Galloway , Player’s Player of the Year – Josh Dunn, Most Improved player –Ryan Watson , and Sportsmanship Award – Shaun Brown.

The Year 8 team had the most to celebrate. They won the highly competitive Bishop Auckland District League with 11 wins out of 11, the District 8-aside tournament and 11 aside Cup final. The quadruple was complete after they had beaten St Thomas More 1-0 in the County Cup Final. Their most amazing feat was going a whole calendar year without defeat. The Year 8 awards were; Player of the Year  - James Frankland , Player’s Player of the Year – Cameron Hall-Brown, Most Improved player – James Hardy , and Sportsmanship Award – Kieran Storey.

The Year 9 team said a fond goodbye to Mr Swindells winning three trophies. They won the League, League Cup and the Bishops Cup final at Heritage Park. The Cup finals were won narrowly 3-2, coming from behind in both. The Year 9 awards were; Player of the Year – Steven Taylor and Charlie Wigley, Player’s Player of the Year – James Twinn and Jack Armstrong, Most Improved player –Jack Armstrong , and Sportsmanship Award – Leon Sides-Roe.

The Year 10 team continued their dominance in the League, winning their final game of the season against the league leaders to secure the title. They completed the double winning the Ben Potts Shield 5-2 despite conceding two penalties. The Year 10 awards were; Player of the Year – Ben Bayles , Player’s Player of the Year – Mark Brown, Most Improved player – Ross Hutchinson , and Sportsmanship Award – Ben Auld.

Finally, the Year 11 team signed off their time at St John’s with an impressive cup run, winning the Cup final 6-1. The Year 11 awards were; Player of the Year  - Matthew Price , Player’s Player of the Year – Matthew Lovegreen, Most Improved player – Jack Bromley , and Sportsmanship Award – Michael Arrowsmith. In total an amazing ELEVEN trophies had been won in one single season

Head of PE Jo Somers said “Well done to all involved in the boy’s football this year. I can’t remember a more successful year. The achievements are amazing and the support we have received from the staff and parents is brilliant. Can we repeat it next year?”

Hopefully the students can retain the drive to succeed into next season where most matches will feel like cup finals.